Type to search

Small Business

’15 national Small Business Week awardees announced

Authors: SBA Administrator María Contreras-Sweet, Karen G. Mills (who led the SBA from 2009-13,) Steve Preston (2006-08,) Héctor Barreto (2001-06,) and Aida Álvarez (1997-2000.)María Contreras-Sweet, the head of the U.S. Small Business Administration, recently announced the 2015 National Small Business Week awardees, which includes the Puerto Rico Women’s Business Institute among the select group.

“National Small Business Week is a chance to honor our nation’s 28 million small businesses and renew our commitment to fostering the entrepreneurial spirit that is central to the American experience. This year’s winners are dynamic trailblazers in their respective small business fields, contributing to their local economies and providing good jobs in their communities. It is an honor to celebrate their hard work and success,” said Contreras-Sweet.

Limaris Aponte, director of the Women’s Business Institute in San Juan, will travel to Washington, D.C. to pick up the honor.

“We couldn’t be more pleased with the results of this year’s National Small Business Week Award Competition, or prouder of our very own Women’s Business Institute at University of the Sacred Heart for its achievements,” said Puerto Rico & U.S. Virgin Islands District Director Yvette T. Collazo.

“The thousands of women entrepreneurs the WBI has helped throughout its 17-year history on the island are evidence of a dedicated director and staff, and of its host institution’s commitment to small business ownership,” she said.

Since 1963, the president of the United States has issued a proclamation designating one week each year as National Small Business Week. This year, the celebration will take place from May 4-8 all across the country, with the theme “Dream Big, Start Small.”

Contreras-Sweet will travel during the week to events in Miami, Los Angeles, San Antonio, New York and Washington, D.C., the agency announced.

Author Details
Author Details
This story was written by our staff based on a press release.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *