Type to search

Climbing the Corporate Ladder

6 new members named to Science Trust board of trustees

Puerto Rico Science, Technology and Research Trust board of trustees Chairman Alberto Bacó-Bagué, announced the appointment of six new members who will have the responsibility of representing private industry within the entity, currently composed by the secretary of Economic Development, the president of the Government Development Bank, the director of the Office of Management and Budget, the president of the UPR, and the executive director of the Puerto Rico Industrial Development Company.

The professionals who will join the board of trustees are all experts in various strategic areas, he said.

Dr. Daniel Colón
Colón is an associate professor of Cellular Neuroscience at Yale University and co-founder of Ciencia Puerto Rico. His laboratory at Yale is dedicated to the research and understanding of the nervous system’s development and functions. Ciencia Puerto Rico is a nonprofit organization composed of scientists, professionals and students committed to the development and promotion of science and research.

Dr. José Lasalde
Lasalde was interim president of the UPR earlier this year, and is currently vice president of the UPR’s research and technology division. He also serves as professor in the Biology and Comparative Medicine departments, as well as the Institute of Neurology at the UPR School of Medicine. He has postdoctoral trainings from Stanford University, the University of California-Davis, and the UPR.

Atty. Antonio García-Padilla
García-Padilla, who played a pivotal role in the development of the Science Trust, is a former UPR president (2001-2009), and former UPR Law School dean. He is a graduate of UPR Law School and has a master’s degree in law from Yale University. García-Padilla served as a law clerk in the Puerto Rico Supreme Court and the U.S. Court of Appeals for the First Circuit. He is the brother of current Puerto Rico Gov. Alejandro García-Padilla.

Atty. Gil Medina
Medina served as Secretary of Commerce of the State of New Jersey. He was also co-founder, president and general counsel of several technology and biotechnology startups. As a result of his successful career in private industry and government, Hispanic Business Magazine has recognized Medina as one of the 100 most influential Latinos. Medina had previously served on the Science Trust’s board of trustees.

Joaquín Viso
Viso was the founder of MOVA Pharmaceutical Corporation in 1986, where he also served as president and CEO. Prior to founding MOVA, Viso worked with pharmaceutical company SmithKline (now GlaxoSmithKline), where he held various management positions, among them chairman and general manager of operations in Puerto Rico. Viso has a Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering from the UPR and a master’s degree in Science and Engineering from the University of Michigan. He is currently chairman of the board of MC-21, Alara Pharmaceutical Corporation and VL Group, Inc.

Esteban Santos
Santos serves as senior vice president of manufacturing operations at Amgen Inc., responsible for global commercial manufacturing operations for the company. Santos is among the 16 most senior executives within Amgen globally. He has been active in the coordination and promotion of initiatives to improve education in the field of biotechnology in the island. Santos has a BS in Electrical Engineering from the UPR, Mayagüez Campus and a master’s degree in Management from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. His knowledge and experience will be instrumental in the development of the Trust.

Author Details
Author Details
Business reporter with 29 years of experience writing for weekly and daily newspapers, as well as trade publications in Puerto Rico. My list of former employers includes Caribbean Business, The San Juan Star, and the Puerto Rico Daily Sun, among others. My areas of expertise include telecommunications, technology, retail, agriculture, tourism, banking and most other segments of Puerto Rico’s economy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *