Type to search

General Biz News

Public Relations Professionals Assoc. rewards excellence

The “Distinguished Public Relations Practitioner” award was bestowed to Lisa Marie Zayas.

The “Distinguished Public Relations Practitioner” award was bestowed to Lisa Marie Zayas.

As part of the 25th anniversary celebration of the Excel Awards, the Public Relations Professionals Association (ARPPR) recognized the work performed by public relations practitioners during 2012-2013, during an event held in Dorado over the weekend.

The big winner of the evening was the team from FirstBank, which walked away with four Excel awards. Trophies were handed out to Iris González and Xiomara Rivera, in the special events category, for “First Bank BBQ Challenge”; Iris González and Maribel Miró, in the internal public relations campaign or program category, for “Vive Nuestras Emociones;” Iris González and Eliadis Carrasquillo, in the non-periodic special publications, for “Cartapacio Prensa Emociones;” and, in the community relations campaign category, Iris González and Lourdes Figaredo for “Verano Verde.”

In the special publications category the Excel was awarded to María Martínez and Ivonne Rosario for “Periódico Campus SUAGM.”

The public service campaign award went to María Pujals and Edgardo M. Rivera for “The Last Meal.” The audiovisual category was awarded to Lisette Nuñez and Edmée Vila for “Del 10 al 1 para llegar a 0” campaign.

In the press and/or electronic media program category the winners were Wanda Betancourt and Brenda Agosto for “Evertec Proyecta su Solidez y Crecimiento” campaign.

The issues management Excel trophy was awarded to Ingerman Martínez for “Una Mala Jugada: Videolotería,” while the public relations campaign award went to for Vilmaliz Martínez and Yormarie González for “El Experimento de Subway” campaign.

The top awards of the evening, the Sixto Toro, recognition to effectiveness, and, the Francisco “Paco” Oller, which recognizes creativity, were conferred to Ingerman Martínez for the development of the issues management campaign “Una Mala Jugada: Videolotería” and Edgardo M. Rivera for the development of  “The Last Meal” campaign, respectively.

The “Distinguished Public Relations Practitioner” award was bestowed to Lisa Marie Zayas while the “President’s Award” went to veteran public relations professional, Marisara Pont.

In addition, four special recognitions were given: Goya de Puerto Rico and Sacred Heart University for their continuous support to the development of the Excel Award ceremonies. Also, Banco Popular and public relations agency Comstat were recognized for their long history of awards received during the past 25 years.

“Recognizing the work of public relations practitioners during the past 25 years shows the quality of public relations practiced in Puerto Rico,” said Juan Rafael Argüelles, director of the Excel Awards and past president of the ARPPR.

“The Excel Awards evidence the great contribution our profession has made to better our society. That’s what we work for,” he said.

Author Details
Author Details
Business reporter with 29 years of experience writing for weekly and daily newspapers, as well as trade publications in Puerto Rico. My list of former employers includes Caribbean Business, The San Juan Star, and the Puerto Rico Daily Sun, among others. My areas of expertise include telecommunications, technology, retail, agriculture, tourism, banking and most other segments of Puerto Rico’s economy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *