Delta, Seaborne codeshare for travel to U.S., Caribbean

Delta is expanding its relationship with Seaborne Airlines out of Luis Muñoz Marín Airport in San Juan. (Credit: © Mauricio Pascual) Delta is expanding its relationship with Seaborne Airlines out of Luis Muñoz Marín Airport in San Juan. (Credit: © Mauricio Pascual)

Delta Air Lines and Seaborne Airlines announced Monday a codeshare agreement that will provide customers from both airlines with increased travel options to and from the United States and Caribbean.

The agreement was filed for U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT) approval, the carriers confirmed.

The agreement complements Delta’s service to the Caribbean, extending Delta flight numbers and fares to 10 Seaborne markets with up to 40 daily round-trip flights. The codeshare flights will connect to/from San Juan.

Delta serves San Juan with four daily flights from Atlanta and five daily flights from New York-JFK during the peak season, with seasonal Detroit and Minneapolis/St. Paul to San Juan routes. With this agreement, customers flying to and from the Caribbean will be able to access Delta’s main hubs in the U.S., connecting to the rest of the world through its global network.

“The Delta-Seaborne partnership was launched in March 2014, but this codeshare agreement marks an important step forward in our relationship,” said Nicolas Ferri, Delta’s vice president, Latin America and the Caribbean.

“This agreement enhances our service offerings to U.S customers traveling to the Caribbean, with unparalleled options for leisure destinations. We look forward to continuing to grow our partnership and providing our customers with even more connectivity in the future,” he said.

There will be Delta-coded Seaborne Airlines–operated routes to five new destinations in the Caribbean: Beef Island, British Virgin Islands (EIS); Dominica (DOM); Nevis, Saint Kitts and Nevis (NEV); Anguilla (AXA); and La Romana, Dominican Republic (LRM).

In addition, Delta will offer enhanced coverage to five points it already served: St. Kitts, Saint Kitts and Nevis (SKB); Antigua, Antigua (ANU); St. Croix, United States Virgin Islands (STX); St. Maarten (SXM) and St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands (STT).

Author Details
This story was written by our staff based on a press release.

Can we count on you?

As recent events have shown us, independent and responsible journalism is more important than ever. That’s why your support is very necessary to ensure that we will be around for a while!

We want to stay true to our mission of delivering quality journalism…for that, we count on your support. Every contribution, big or small, is greatly appreciated!

Use the PayPal button below and contribute today!

Comment here