Type to search


SBA seeking nominees for annual Tibbetts, SBIR awards

Author Yvette T. Collazo, district director for the SBA in Puerto Rico.

Author Yvette T. Collazo, district director for the SBA in Puerto Rico.

The U.S. Small Business Administration is seeking nominations for its annual Tibbetts and Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Hall of Fame Awards. Nominations may be submitted online on or before the May 2 deadline, the agency said.

The Tibbetts Awards are presented to small businesses and individuals judged to exemplify the best in the SBIR program. The award is named for Roland Tibbetts, , which the SBA said is “acknowledged as the father of the SBIR program,” and is presented to companies and individuals that promote the mission and goals of the SBIR and the Small Business Technology Transfer (STTR) program.

“The current economic climate presents an ideal opportunity for innovative and high-growth small businesses that have been awarded SBIR and STTR grants in Puerto Rico, to showcase their potential,” said SBA Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands District Director Yvette T. Collazo.  “We encourage their nominations to these prestigious awards.”

The SBA administers the SBIR and the STTR programs for small businesses seeking to advance their technological inventions in the commercial marketplace. The SBIR program is a highly competitive three-phase award program that encourages small businesses to explore their technological potential and helps them profit from their inventions.

Meanwhile, there are two types of Tibbetts awards. One prize goes to any businesses who have participated in the SBIR or STTR Phase I and II award programs. Another award goes to individuals who have not received assistance but supported the SBIR and STTR programs.

The SBIR Hall of Fame, started in 2011, recognizes previous SBIR awardees with a long period of extraordinary success in research, innovation, and commercialization within the SBIR program. Past SBIR Hall of Fame winners include IRobot, Qualcomm, and Symantec.

All Tibbetts and SBIR Hall of Fame award winners will be selected by the SBA based on the recommendations of a panel of judges. The winners will be invited to an awards program held in June during the annual SBIR National Conference at the National Harbor.

Author Details
Author Details
Business reporter with 29 years of experience writing for weekly and daily newspapers, as well as trade publications in Puerto Rico. My list of former employers includes Caribbean Business, The San Juan Star, and the Puerto Rico Daily Sun, among others. My areas of expertise include telecommunications, technology, retail, agriculture, tourism, banking and most other segments of Puerto Rico’s economy.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *